I ordered a MacBook Pro a few days ago.  This is a huge step for me as I’ve been a confirmed PC person for years.  However, my mom bought a MacBook and I have a few friends with them, and they are just so much …. nicer? better? faster? funner? …. than my PC.

Apple has a deal running right now for students (thank you Grad school).  If you purchase a new MacBook Pro, you can get a free iPod Touch (8g).  Whoo hoo – the kids can play with that instead of my iPhone!

The first package arrived today from FedEx.  This is the package with all the extra stuff.  Apparently, 2 day shipping means something different in China, because the computer shipped yesterday, but it won’t be here until Tuesday next week??  Anyway …. I opened the package with the iPod Touch and the neoprene sleeve, and the Parallels program (to run windows program on the Mac for work).  Low and behold, there’s this really heavy box that’s supposed to be the iPod Touch.  I open it up to discover they have sent me not 1, not 2, but FIVE iPod touches!!!

I am getting the first one for free, and apparently they thought I deserved four more because I’m such an amazing person.  They’re absolutely right of course, but I had a sneaking suspicion there was a mix-up somewhere.  I checked the packing slip to make sure they didn’t charge me for five.  Nope – only 1 shipped!

I then texted a friend saying:

“OMG!!! I ordered 1 free iPod touch and they sent me 5 … Seriously”
“$1000 worth of iPod touches on my desk”

Her response:

“I so get one!”

My response:

“I doubt they will let me keep them, I’m calling now”

We then went back and forth on the merits of calling versus not calling.  Her best argument “you could get someone fired if you call them on this!” My argument, hopefully no one will get fired, but they certainly need to know if someone is fulfilling orders with 5-pack boxes of Touches instead of one.

This all happens on the day with the highest call volume to Apple.  As I heard the message “we are experiencing abnormally high call volume” my heart sank a bit.  iPhone 4 release day.  Ugh.  As I sat on hold I will admit to a moment where I wondered how long I would have to wait on hold before I could consider it a good faith effort to return the product I didn’t purchase.  15 minutes? 30 minutes? Would I feel obligated to try again tomorrow if it ended up being too long?  I also started thinking about how nice it would be to not hear the kids fight over who gets to use the sole iPod touch in our house.

All that being said, I waited on hold for about 15 minutes and spoke with a very nice gentleman named Chris who sounded a little shocked that they sent 5 instead of 1.  He thanked me very much for my honesty and advised he would send out a shipping label for the extra four.  When they get them back, they will credit my store account with $75 for being so honest.

I’m really trying hard to think how cool it is that I get $75 of Apple Store credit ….. but those iPod Touches were really really pretty.

* My co-workers may not speak to me for awhile! 🙂

** I really hope returning these four doesn’t screw up the rebate for the one I received for free!!  A condition of the rebate is I can’t return the item under question – if they only have record of sending me one and I return them will it cause problems?? ***

